Sleuthing at the Stove -Dogs and Turds

March 30, 2016 at 11:23 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

292183_212336108868978_100002777705705_269924_1884003815_n[1]  I find it interesting that my blog was totally ignored while I was working on my book and that a year passed away without anyone noticing.  So obviously my blog audience has not been craving my wit!  This I find a shame as if you know me you will find that I am quite accurate in my summations of human behavior.  As I get older though I find myself less tolerant of whiners, excusers, self-identified victims, and entitled folks.  These moods often find me in the kitchen – pounding the crap out of some dough.  (flour not financial).  I was thinking about how Rockford files so accurately portrayed the reluctance and/or deliberate refusal to pay an investigator for services provided.  Do you remember Jim Rockford?  I never understood his desire to live in that tacky trailer by the ocean.  Great location to live; terrible decorating.  So here I am making dog cookies in the shape of humans.  Why? Because some humans deserve to be devoured and pooped out in the shape of the turds they really are.  Recently I worked on a file for a distraught couple who were upset that their granddaughter was involved with unsavory men.  A difficult file given the expectations of the grandmother and the fact that she would pass on all information  provided to her to her granddaughter and subsequently the man she was involved with.  This is after multiple cautions to the client to not do this!   The information that the client wanted was provided.  At the end of it all she owed money.  Why? Because a bad business decision was made to let her approve the continuation of the file verbally and pay upon completion.  Yes we have a contract. Yes we take retainers from private clients.  Yes we sometimes trust the clients.  SO HERE IS THE BUSINESS LESSON OF THE YEAR.  Do not do any extra work for anyone without funds in hand.  No matter who they are – no matter how they represent themselves – no matter the background they claim to have.  No money – no work.  I am not new at this business but I still make this mistake because at home, in my heart, I still trust people.  Some people would call this a good quality but every time i do trust someone like this I am stiffed on the bill.  So yes, Jim Rockford, I relate to you.  Often nice gals finish last.

So if you are interested in my personal recipe for dog cookies (they go through them like crazy) here it is.

Easy, yummy Dog Cookies – you can eat them too!
As you know i believe in easy easy… If i have to read four pages of a recipe you have lost me. so enjoy making these.
Ingredients – Dry
2 cups whole wheat flour
1 cup rolled oats (can use quick oats as well)
1/2 cup dry milk
1/2 t. salt
Add some herbs – parsley is great for dog breath; basil for flavor… 1 tablespoon.
Stir the dry ingredients.
Ingredients – Wet
2 eggs
1 cup peanut butter – any kind
1/2 cup cold water (may need a bit more – use your judgement to make the dough cohesive.
Do:
Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.
Roll the dough into balls.
Put on cookie sheet.
Flatten the balls using the bottom of a wine bottle or glass – depends what you are drinking at that moment!
Bake for 10 to 20 minutes depending on the type of oven you have. i dont have a clue so check on your cookies so that they are not burned.
I made about three trays of cookies – about 48.
MY DOGS WOULD EAT THESE NON STOP IF THEY COULD!

Check out my facebook page TheFarmersWife for more great recipes.

 THE FARMERS WIFE·FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 26, 2016

IMG_2443

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

